ECAASU Condemns President Trump's Travel Ban

The East Coast Asian Student Union (ECAASU) condemns President Donald Trump’s executive order which restricts the entrance of citizens from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

In January 2017, President Trump’s executive order and initial Muslim travel ban targeted seven predominantly Muslim majority countries. The ban gave preference to Christian and European migrants over Muslims and placed immigration restrictions on Muslim, as well as Black and Brown refugees from all around the world. This initial travel ban was quickly struck down in the courts. In March 2017, President Trump released a second version of the travel ban, in which Iraq was taken off the list. This revised ban was also struck down due to its religious intolerance and discrimination.

On September 24, 2017, the President ordered a third travel ban which is scheduled to take effect on October 18th. This most recent ban places indefinite restrictions on travelers from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

Although the new ban includes North Korea and certain government officials of Venezuela, the ban still primarily targets Muslim immigrants. It is clear that these actions cannot be justified by vague assertions of “national security” and “safety.” The initial travel ban and recent revisions are clear expressions of racism, xenophobia, and Islamophobia. The travel ban is an attack on the Muslim community, the Asian American community, and on Syrian and South Asian refugees and immigrants. 

ECAASU stands by its initial statement condemning the Muslim travel ban. We believe that the travel ban is, at its core, Islamophobic, racist, unconstitutional, and inhumane. The travel ban builds on a history of exclusionary, racist, and arbitrary immigration policy in the United States, beginning with and not ending at the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882. We must stand in solidarity with the Muslim community during this time and resist every version of this travel ban.

Run solely by volunteers, The East Coast Asian American Student Union (ECAASU) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit whose mission is to inspire, educate, and empower those interested in Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) issues.

For more information visit and follow us @ecaasu

Download the pdf version of this statement.